Can I Be Honest…?

Can I be honest…? Have you ever had these overwhelming sentiments that cast you into an incredibly helpless state?  Have you ever experienced a seemingly hopeless struggle between insanity and rational thought. If you have , most likely it has been because of a “her” or a “him.” I pray that those of you whom are reading this have not experienced this, but in all reality I know you have. I know that you all, at one point or another, have placed your identity in another human being…

Can I be honest…? It makes me cry, with a deep and painful sorrow, to see an incredibly wonderful human being place their identity in the hands of another. To witness a beautiful soul place all that they are in the hands of a careless individual. In those moments, my mind and heart becomes plagued with a crushing pain. It goes beyond, “I’d be better for them.” Rather, it becomes questions of, “Don’t you know you’re beautiful?”, “Don’t you know you’re so creative?”, “Don’t you know everything about you makes you so unique?”, “Haven’t you the slightest idea you are worth more than the birds of the air, the fishes of the sea, and the creatures of the land?”, “Don’t you know we love you?”, “Why can’t you see?”….

Can I be honest…? You might reject my compassion as nothing more than a young fellow caught up in an infatuation with a young lady. But, for the first time in forever, my hurt heart hurts for more than just a “her.” My heart honestly and earnestly hurts for the broken. It hurts for the weak. It hurts for the lost. It hurts for the blind. It hurts for the rejected. It hurts for the unloved. It hurts for every soul unwilling to love the “him” or “her” that they are…

Can I be honest…? I love you. I love you so much. With an intense, fiery passion that consumes every fiber of my being, I love you. But it is not with a romantic lust that seeks to satiate a sexual need. It is not with a desire to exterminate the loneliness and lack of self-discovery of a young nineteen year old. It is not with an attempt to temporarily vanquish the hurt and pain that plagues your heart. It is not even a hope to one day assume the honored position of being your equal and other half. It is none of these…

Can I be honest…? I love you with a passion that made itself forever known on a cross two-thousand years ago. It is with a longing that sent a King from heaven to Earth. It is with a desire that is no respecter of man, but a lover of all souls. It is with a yearning that sends an army of angels to vanquish all your enemies. It is with a caring heart that fought death so that you might live. It is not my own love, but the Love of a true Father…

Can I be honest…? To her whom I had thought of when I first wrote this, I want you to smile. I want you to laugh. I want you to love and I want you to live. I want you to smile with a heart that emanates the hope and health of a strong woman. I want you to walk a thousand miles and to never be held down by what “he” did to you. I want you to break the ceiling he built over you, and to fly in the skies of liberty and success. I want you to find freedom from everyone whose ever wronged you and walk in health, happiness, and assurance of a Father who genuinely loves you to no end.

Can I be honest…? It’s hard being honest. Truly. Yet, when true love meets you in the middle of the night and asks you to be honest, what can you do but tell the truth…

Can I be honest…? Do you know what true love is…? What I know it to be, caring for another without condition. Pouring your heart out for someone, even when they will not reciprocate it. And above all, being happy when they find happiness. That is me being honest.

(Psalms 34:18)

Much Love, Me

Leave a Reply

